What will I learn?

The QA Level 2 Award in Fire Safety (RQF) is a regulated and nationally recognised qualification that has been specifically designed for anyone who has a specific responsibility for fire safety in the workplace, such as designated fire wardens/fire marshals.

Successful candidates will gain an understanding of fire safety management at work and the specific roles and responsibilities related to fire safety in the workplace.

The course covers:
Causes of fires in the workplace
The fire triangle
Hazards during and after a fire
Fire and smoke spread
Identifying and controlling fire hazards:

  • Fire prevention
  • Fire detection and raising the alarm
  • Means of escape
  • Principles of extinguishing fires
  • Fire-fighting equipment and systems
    Fire safety laws
    Duties and responsibilities of employers and employees
    Undertaking a fire safety inspection
    Fire safety risk assessments
    Contents of a fire safety briefing
    Roles and responsibilities of the nominated fire warden:

  • On a day-to-day basis
  • During an emergency

    Please note that delegates will need to bring a copy of Fire Safety Made Easy ISBN 0955229456 to the course. This is available online or from all good booksellers.

    Entry Requirements

    This qualification is for anyone who has a specific responsibility for fire safety in the workplace. It is suitable to fire wardens/fire marshalls, provide a foundation of fire safety knowledge on which employers and ‘responsible persons’ can build and increase the fire safety knowledge of all employees.

    Learners must be at least 14 years old on the first day of the training.
    There are no other formal entry requirements but to benefit from the learning we advise that you have a minimum of Level 1 in literacy.

  • Fees:


    Level of Study:



    Further dates on enquiry (AWL2FS/FC01)


    Sparsholt College, SO21 2NF


    09:00 - 16:30