Sparsholt College Group is delighted to have had five of their expert lecturers and staff teams nominated and two receive awards at the 2022 Hampshire Education Awards held in Winchester this week.

Presented at Winchester Great Hall, members of the College Group were in attendance to celebrate the fantastic efforts of staff nominated and awarded this year.

The Sparsholt Wellbeing Team received the award for Wider Support Contribution. The team are passionate individuals who come from a wide range of backgrounds, bringing a wealth of experience, training and knowledge. Their focus is always on helping students succeed, stay on course and achieve their qualifications. They’ve been pivotal to student inclusion and safeguarding, working alongside other agencies to ensure all students are supported and kept safe.

Liz Wilson, Assistant Principal Student Experience, said: “As we all know in education, we see too many students who have had a difficult start in life or are still experiencing difficult times outside of the classroom. The wellbeing team help make the story a positive one, enabling students to be successful and therefore move onto work and university feeling valued.”

Chris Wilson, Sparsholt College Group Governor, received the Governance award. Judges commented that Chris had the highest level of professional expertise and has demonstrated an exceptional commitment to the achievements and safeguarding of learners during his eight years and is valued by governors and management alike. The judge noted that Chris has contributed extensively to the governance of the college through his education and governance experience. Most notably this is through his membership of the quality and standards committee, chairing of the audit committee, safeguarding lead governor and as the current co-vice chair of governors.

Shortlisted for other awards were, Horticulture lecturer, Chris Bird, for Outstanding Contribution Award. Foundation Curriculum Leader at the Andover campus, Suzie Oostendorp for Improving Life Chances Award and Head of Science and Maths at the Andover Campus, Nikki Yates, for the Teaching and Learning Award.

Julie Milburn, Principal of Sparsholt College Group, expressed her gratitude for the staff nominated for, and receiving awards: “I am absolutely delighted for The Wellbeing Team and Chris Wilson whose awards are well deserved and well earned. Our fantastic staff are an integral element of the Sparsholt College Group, giving students incredible opportunities to become the experts of the future. It is an honour to have them recognised at such a prestigious event – my many congratulations go out to those who were nominated Chris Bird, Suzie Oostendorp, and Nikki Yates, an incredible achievement.”

The Hampshire Education Awards have been established by Hampshire County Council as a means of recognising and celebrating the contribution of staff and volunteers within Hampshire’s education community.