Skip to main content

Our Commitment to Sustainability

Sparsholt College Group is committed to promoting sustainability in order to protect and enhance our environment for future generations to enjoy. We pledge to:

  • Reach net zero carbon emissions for Scope 1 and 2 by 2030
  • Undertake significant work to understand and reduce Scope 3 emissions by 2030, and develop an action plan to achieve carbon neutrality by 2040
  • Integrate sustainability considerations into all organisational decisions
  • Ensure that our staff and students have the opportunity to undertake education for sustainable development


  • The SDG Accord

    The UN Sustainable Development Goals are a call for action by all countries – poor, rich and middle-income – to promote prosperity while protecting the planet. They recognize that ending poverty must go hand-in-hand with strategies that build economic growth and address a range of social needs including education, health, social protection, and job opportunities, while tackling climate change and environmental protection.

    The 17 Goals Sparsholt College Group pledges to work towards are:

    • No poverty
    • Zero hunger
    • Good health and wellbeing
    • Quality education
    • Gender equality
    • Clean water and sanitation
    • Affordable and clean energy
    • Decent work and economic growth
    • Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure
    • Reduced Inequalities
    • Sustainable Cities and Communities
    • Responsible consumption and production
    • Climate Action
    • Life below water
    • Life on land
    • Peace, justice and strong institutions
    • Partnerships for the goals

  • College Green Group

    The Sparsholt College Green Group is an initiative made up of members of staff and students across all four arms of the Sparsholt College Group. The group meets on a regular basis to record sustainability actions across the College Group.

    2020/21 Members Include:

    Strategic Leadership Team (SLT): Julie Milburn, Suzanne Grant, Rob Price, Ben Stokes, Nathan Heslop

    Health & Safety Officer – Darren Carrig 

    Premises & Facilities Manager – Dougy Hill 

    Marketing representative – Jane Chapman/Lauren Collins

    Managers representative (Andover) – David Wales 

    Managers representative (Sparsholt)– Jamie Cryer 

    Staff representative (Andover) – Jonathan Read 

    Staff representative (Sparsholt) – Nicola Edwards 

    FE Students representative (Andover) – Heather Newton

    FE Students representative (Sparsholt) – Abbie King

    HE students representative – Millie Stevens

    Aramark/contractors representative – Jess Mace